Skip to main content

Lotus

In this article, we'll explain why your contacts can be flagged after importing them or sending them an email campaign, and what you can do about it.

When your contacts get flagged, we send you an email and a notification in your Sendinblue account. Here is how flagged contacts are displayed on the Contacts page:

New Contacts page Classic Contacts page
Contacts flagged as In Progress
 
Contacts flagged as Declined
mceclip2.png

Why are my contacts getting flagged?

Import quality

When you import a large number of new contacts, relative to the size of your current contact list, a verification check is automatically performed by our system to verify that they are valid contacts who gave their consent to receive emails from you.

💡 Good to know
You will receive a notification offering you the option to continue with the import and verification check or to cancel and import a smaller list of contacts.

Your contacts will remain flagged with the status In Progress (or Review In-Progress for the classic Contacts page) until the verification check has been completed.

Based on the results of the verification check, there are three possible outcomes:

  • The contacts are automatically validated and you can send them emails.
  • The contacts are automatically rejected, flagged with the status Declined, and you can't send them emails.
  • You receive an email from our support team with questions about the list you imported. Based on your answers, the contacts are:
    • validated and you can send them emails.
    • rejected, flagged with the status Declined, and you can't send them emails.

Deliverability checks

When you send an email campaign to a newly imported list of contacts, Sendinblue will perform a verification check on a sample of these contacts to monitor their engagement level. 

If your email campaign performs poor metrics (low open rates, high complaint rate, high hard bounce rate, etc.), which indicates that they did not recently or directly gave their consent to receive your emails, the entire recipient list will be flagged with the status Declined.

What should I do if my contacts get flagged with the status Declined?

You can't send emails to contacts who are flagged with the status Declined without additional list maintenance. You must delete them from your Sendinblue account and reimport a cleaned list of contacts following the procedure below.

This process allows us to maintain good deliverability and sender reputation for our shared IPs.

1️⃣ Segment your flagged contacts

Before exporting your flagged contacts, you must first segment them using our Flagged status condition (or Flagged contacts for the classic Contacts page). We highly recommend you add a dependent condition to only include subscribed contacts in your segment. That way, it will prevent you from reimporting blocklisted contacts and make sure they stay blocklisted.

New Contacts page Classic Contacts page

To segment your flagged contacts:

  1. Go to Contacts.
  2. Click + Add a filter.
  3. Select Contact details > Flagged status > Declined.
    flagged_declined_en-us.png
  4. Click + And to add a dependent condition.
  5. Select Email > Email campaigns subscription > Subscribed.
    subscribed_en-us.png

The segmentation results with the list of flagged contacts will appear below the segment.

2️⃣ Export your flagged contacts

Now that you've segmented your flagged contacts, you can export them as a CSV file.

New Contacts page Classic Contacts page

To export your flagged contacts:

  1. In the segmentation results, check the box next to CONTACT and click Select all the # contacts.
    mceclip3.png
  2. Click More actions > Export.
    mceclip4.png
  3. Click Select All to select all the contact attributes and select the CSV field separator of your choice.
  4. Click Export to begin the export process.
  5. Once your export file is ready, download it from your notification center.

3️⃣ Delete flagged contacts

❗️ Important
Note that deleting contacts is irreversible and that all their data will be permanently lost (attributes, history, etc.).

Once you’ve exported your flagged contacts, you must delete them.

New Contacts page Classic Contacts page

To delete your flagged contacts:

  1. In the segmentation results, check the box next to CONTACT and click Select all the # contacts.
  2. Click More actions > Delete permanently.
    mceclip7.png
  3. Type the number of contacts that you want to delete.
  4. Click Delete.

4️⃣ Clean up your contact list

Before reimporting your contacts, you need to clean up your export file to remove any invalid and unengaged contacts.

To clean up your contact list, you can:

5️⃣ Reimport your clean contact list

❗️ Important
Only import contacts who have given their consent to receive your emails. If new imports repeatedly result in contacts getting flagged with the Declined status, your Sendinblue account may incur further review or be permanently invalidated.

Once your contact list is cleaned up and all invalid or unengaged contacts are removed, you can reimport it to Sendinblue. To reimport your contacts, check our dedicated article Import contacts to Sendinblue.

6️⃣ Optional: Requeue your email campaign

If your contacts were flagged after you sent them an email campaign, only a sample of these contacts received your email campaign. Once you've reimported your contact list, you can use the Requeue feature to send your email campaign to the contacts who have not yet received it.

To learn how to requeue an email campaign, check our dedicated article Requeue, duplicate, and archive email campaigns.

🤔 Have a question?

If you have a question, feel free to contact our support team by creating a ticket from your account. If you don't have an account yet, you can contact us here.