Create a subscription form - Part 4: Add a double opt-in confirmation to your form

In this last article of this series, we'll explain how to add a double opt-in (DOI) confirmation to your form. We'll also have a quick look at the Additional confirmation settings and simple confirmation.

In the Settings step, you can choose the type of confirmation you'd like to add to your form. You can either use an on-page confirmation and/or send a customized confirmation email.

A double opt-in confirmation email is recommended for GDPR compliance.

❗️ Important
The Double Opt-in confirmation is only available if you retrieve the EMAIL address of your contacts. If you only want to retrieve the contacts' SMS number, the Simple confirmation email and Double confirmation email will not be available

Double opt-in confirmation

What is double opt-in confirmation?

If you want to know more about double opt-in (DOI) confirmation, please read our dedicated article Why use a double opt-in subscription form?

Add a double opt-in confirmation to your form

  1. In the Settings step, select Double confirmation email 
  2. Click the Select a template drop-down and
    1. either select the default double opt-in confirmation template.
      If you want to modify the default template, you can find it in Campaigns > Templates.
    2. or select the custom template you created. Please check our dedicated article Create a double opt-in (DOI) confirmation template for Sendinblue form to know how to create this template. 
  3. For the other available options, please check the next section Additional confirmation settings (optional).
    mceclip0.png

❗️ Important
If you create your own template, please follow the procedure on the dedicated tutorial Create a double opt-in (DOI) confirmation template for Sendinblue form to include the mandatory fields, otherwise the template won't show in the drop-down list.

How do I know which contact have used the DOI confirmation?

Your Sendinblue contact database will be updated to include a new attribute (column) labeled Double_opt-in. Contacts who are added via double opt-in will have a value of Yes within this column. If the contact subscribed through another type of form, this field value will be No.

If you did not use a Sendinblue subscription form to add contacts to your database, this field will be blank.

mceclip0.png

💡 Good to know
If you pick the Double confirmation email option, only the contacts who have completed the Double Opt-in (DOI) process, meaning they have clicked the DOI link in the email, will be added to the contact list.
Otherwise, they won’t be added to the platform and cannot be contacted.

Additional confirmation settings (optional)

You can add additional optional settings to your double opt-in confirmation.

  • Confirmation page after submitting the form
    Use this option if you want your subscriber to be redirected to a specific page (i.e. a confirmation page or your website homepage) after registering. You can use your own page by default, or create one on your end and link it there.
    Note that the default page cannot be edited in Sendinblue but will adapt to the language of your subscriber's browser.
  • Confirmation page after clicking the validation link in the email
    Use this option if you want your subscriber to be redirected to a specific page (i.e. a confirmation page or your website homepage) after they click the validation link in the email. You can use your own page by default, or create one on your end and link it there.
    Note that the default page cannot be edited in Sendinblue but will adapt to the language of your subscriber's browser.
  • Final Confirmation Email
    Use this tool if you want your subscribers to receive a final confirmation email after they have completed the double opt-in process. As with the other confirmation emails, the default template is simply called “Default template - Final Confirmation”. You can find and modify it in your SMTP templates.

💡 Good to know
These default confirmation pages cannot be updated, but they will adapt to the language of your subscriber's browser.

Simple confirmation & No confirmation

If you do not wish to use double opt-in confirmation, you still have the possibility between the two following options.

Simple confirmation

Choose this option if you want to send a confirmation email to a new subscriber confirming that they will now receive your emails. Next, select the SMTP template you would like the system to use when sending the confirmation. The default template, titled "Default Template – Single Confirmation", is available and you can customize it or create another template confirmation.

💡 Good to know
To create a new SMTP template, go to Campaigns > Templates and click the New Template button. If you create a new template, make sure to activate it so that it will appear as an option when setting up a form with Simple Confirmation.

You can choose the confirmation page after submitting the form within this option as well.

No confirmation

Choose this option if you do not want to send a confirmation email once the person has subscribed.

To set a confirmation page, check the confirmation page after submitting the form and select a confirmation page or add your own URL.

If you did not select URL or confirmation page, then a subscription confirmation message will appear at the top of the form without the page changing.

Advanced settings (optional)

If you click Show advanced settings, you'll find:

  • Temporary Emails
    Select this checkbox under Advanced settingsto refuse temporary email addresses created on disposable email address services like Yopmail, MyTrashMail, etc. These addresses will not be added to your contact database from form submissions.
  • Completed form behavior
    This will hide the form after it has been submitted by the subscriber. If you do not select this checkbox the form will still appear in input mode to the visitor even after they have filled and submitted it successfully.
    This does not apply for visitors who reload their page even after ticking the box “hide the form when the user has completed it”, the form will reappear as we don’t add cookies to identify and definitively hide the form for the same visitor.

⏩ What's next?

🤔 Have a question?

If you have a question, feel free to contact our support team by creating a ticket from your account. If you don't have an account yet, you can contact us here.