Drag & Drop Editor (New) - Part 1: Editor Overview

The Drag & Drop Editor (New) makes it easy to design professional looking emails. It provides more options to customize your email and also ensures that your email looks perfect on any email client and device.

We've divided the drag & drop editor articles into the following parts. In this article, we will walk you through the editor interface and explain the key sections.

❗️ Important
We can activate the New Drag & Drop Editor on demand for your account.

To start with take a look at our detailed video on how to use the Drag & Drop Editor (New) 🚀. 

Description of the editor

Left navigation

The left navigation has predefined blocks such as text, image along with your saved blocks and the default template settings. This part is divided into 3 tabs: Content, My Content and Design. More details below!

left_navigation.gif

Content

Begin your email design by dragging and dropping the layouts and content blocks into the canvas. These blocks are explained in more detail in Part 2: Layouts vs content blocks.

My Content

This tab will appear as soon as you have saved a block.

Here you will find all your saved content blocks, that you can simply drag & drop into your canvas. Explained in more detail in Part 5: Save blocks to reuse in your campaigns.

Design

Here you can set design settings for the whole template such as font, link color to avoid adding settings for each content block separately. The design section is explained in more detail in Part 4: Set the design style for your entire email.

Top navigation

On the top navigation, you will find the following options:

top_navigation.gif

  • Campaign last saved status
    On the top left, you will see the last saved status of the campaign. The saved time is updated when the campaign is auto saved while you are updating the design or when you manually save the campaign. On hover, you can click on Version History to view backups of your email campaign.
  • Undo / redo changes 
    You can undo or redo changes while updating your design.
  • Campaign name
    The name of your campaign as set in the campaign setup step will be visible here.
  • Desktop and mobile view editing
    • By default, editing in desktop view is set.
    • You can switch to mobile view and edit your email as you would like it to appear on mobile devices. Learn more about editing emails in mobile view .
  • Actions
    • Version history: Automatic and manual backups of your campaign are available here and you can also see the preview of all the versions. You can load a previous version of your campaign by selecting the version and then clicking on Restore selected version. You can continue editing the campaign once the selected version is loaded.
    • Preview as customer: Validate the personalizations in your email by using one of your contacts or/and dynamic transactional parameters.
    • Preview on email clients: See how your email will look in different email clients.
    • Send test email: Use this functionality to review your emails and make changes until everything looks the way you wanted. You can send test emails to one or more of your contacts.
    • Developer mode: Use this functionality to code your templates. Learn more about using the developer mode.
    • Save: Hit the Save button if you want to save your changes and keep working on the design.
    • Exit without saving: this option will take you back to the campaign design step without saving the design.
  • Continue: this option will save your campaign and take you back to the campaign design step.

⏩ What's next?

🤔 Have a question?

If you have a question, feel free to contact our support team by creating a ticket from your account. If you don't have an account yet, you can contact us here.