In this article, we will explain why we recommend keeping your blocklisted contacts instead of deleting them from your Sendinblue account.
Should I blocklist or delete contacts?
In regards to deleting or blocklisting your contacts, you can choose to do either. However, we do recommend you leave the contact as blocklisted in your account to protect the quality of your campaigns.
Why not delete contacts who are blocklisted?
Keeping blocklisted contacts ensures that you cannot accidentally re-import and send campaigns to contacts that are found to be invalid, or to those who have previously opted out of your communications.
If you end up keeping the blocklisted contacts, we recommend you create a separate contact list. To do so, you can create a search filter using our Advanced Search & Segmentation feature and create a new list with the segmented contacts.
Can blocklisted contacts still receive emails?
In Sendinblue, email campaigns and transactional emails have two separate blocklists. This means that if a contact is blocklisted from receiving your email campaigns, they can still receive your transactional emails. To be blocklisted from both email campaigns and transactional emails, the contact would have to unsubscribe/mark as spam both an email campaign and a transactional email.